Skip to content

” The Rocks “

Had a bit of fun trying out my new 10 stop B&W ND filter on the weekend and came away with this shot.  I’m not sure about this filter as I found it throws a definite colour cast over all the shots I took which can be a bit of a pain.  Anyway I like the softness in water in this photo as it is certainly  not  as smooth as this in real life at this spot.

Posted by hodgy1 on February 8, 2010
10 Comments Post a comment
  1. 02/8/2010

    So that’s where you were on the weekend.

    CF said the same thing about his B & W 10 stop.I haven’t noticed it with my duo.

    Reply
  2. 02/8/2010

    So you got yourself one Hodgy?? Did you go see the boys at Camera Electronic? They definitely do give a warm tone to your images that’s for sure, but you can pull the white balance back a bit in raw, which is always helpful.
    How long was this exposure and what time of day?
    Nice shot mate!

    Reply
    • 02/8/2010

      Hi Jamie,
      I shot it late afternoon, about 6pm. It was a 30 second exposure.
      Do you get a vignetting effect at the sides of your pics as well with this filter ?

      Reply
  3. 02/10/2010
    truenorthmark

    Yep I have the same ND I reckon and I always cool if off in camera RAW until the colours look right. A tip I got from Les Walkling was to warm up the forground a little with colour balance and then cool off the background in the same way to add depth.

    In this image just try cooling off the back rocks and watch the depth jump at ya!

    Reply
  4. 02/28/2010

    yep Mark is right a little tweak of the white balance in ACR is all that is needed.
    Nice. What lens were you using?

    Reply
    • 02/28/2010
      Peter Hodgson

      I did try a few things with the colour balance but I’m still not pleased with my results, must be just getting to fussy which is annoying as I quite like the composition in this pic.

      I used my Nikon 17-35 f2.8, Really nice glass.

      Reply
  5. 02/28/2010

    Come on time for a new one .

    By the way you should have slipped in “like” after quite above.

    He he he , jeezzz i ask for trouble. 🙂

    Oh by the way, no trouble here if you had Canon gear, something you’ll never know !!!!.

    Reply
    • 02/28/2010

      It’s all about Quality not Quantity , and yeah your right I’ll never know.

      Reply
  6. 03/13/2010

    Hey Peter cool shot, I like it down there on those rocks so far i havent managed to get a shot I like, but the place has heaps of potential. I love the slow shutter speed shots in the day light.
    Dan

    Reply
    • 03/13/2010

      cheers Dan, hope you get your shot some day.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

