Skip to content

Carnaby’s Cockatoo’s ??

This is a photo I snapped a few years ago and after the unfortunate deaths of the endangered Carnaby’s cockatoo’s down Hopetoun way this week I thought I would dig it up and try and find out once and for all if anyone in blog land might be able to tell me if they of the Carnaby variety or not as I have never been 100% sure. the shot was taken just out of Toodyay in about 2005.

Categories: Uncategorized
Posted by hodgy1 on January 9, 2010
7 Comments Post a comment
  1. 01/9/2010
    mervfrench

    I don’t know what breed they are but there was about 20 of them down on the oval the other night.

    Birdman Dave’s the man for the job here !!!

    Reply
  2. 01/10/2010

    Sorry Pete, all I know is we have white tail and red tail cockatoos!! I’m no help I know!

    Reply
  3. 01/10/2010
    ecomuseimages

    Yes mate that is indeed a Carnaby’s Cockatoo. It is infact a male and female pair…the male is on the right (with the pink eye ring) and the female on the left with the lighter coloured bill.

    OR…it could possibly be the long billed or Baudins cockatoo, hard to tell from that photo as I cant see the bill length clearly. Where was the photo taken…that might give us a clue?

    Nice capture.

    Reply
    • 01/11/2010

      Thanks for your input Graham.

      Reply
  4. 01/11/2010

    Yep I agree. Most probably the Carnaby. Bill length is the only way of telling the Carnaby from the Baudin. The Bauldin’s cockatoo only occurs in the SW forests from say Perth – Denmark. Toodyay is on the border between the two species i guess but I reckon the odds are it’s a Carnaby.

    I might see if I can post a Baudin’s cockatoo in a couple of days.
    Nice pair of birds Pete. Nicely done!

    Reply
    • 01/11/2010

      Thanks Dave, It is nice to know they are carnabys especially after the tragedy of last week

      Reply
  5. 01/15/2010

    Nice capture mate. Yes not good news for sure. I got a couple of red-tailed black cockatoo on Sunday. They are on my blog. Chased a small mob with Leigh Diprose 2 nights ago but could not get close.

    Cheers

    David

    Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

